Tokyo Joe // Japanese Fast Food: Yay, Nay, or Just Okay?

We’re not new to the fact that Japanese food can be quite costly. So I’ve featured several places before that are cheaper than restaurants, but still gives us the value for our money despite being tagged as fast food chain. So for those who are afraid to try something new because they might be disappointed, I’m your guinea pig.

Tokyo Joe is a Japanese fast food concept that started in Cebu and said to specialize in Gyudon, Ramen, and Maki. They have branches in selected SM food court and Robinsons Place since 2015. 

We tried their Gyudon, Super California Maki, and Mango Kani Salad. I didn’t see that they offer sets which could’ve saved us around ₱50, and also has their Ramen.

Gyudon (Beef Bowl) is a Japanese dish consisting of a bowl of rice topped with beef, onion, half boiled egg, and red ginger. Tokyo Joe’s Gyudon is great for their price of ₱149, especially if you’re a fan of sweet version of Tapsilog (Beef Tapa, fried rice, and fried egg). You won’t feel cheated when it comes to their rice since they use authentic Japanese rice and is cooked perfectly – not sticky nor dry.

I was excited when I found out that they have Kani Salad (₱95) since it’s one of my favorite salads. To my dismay, it was subpar. At first I thought they used romaine lettuce because of the garnish but it’s actually iceberg lettuce. They also included the stem which was a bit hard and bitter. I know this salad should be cold, however the mangoes were obviously frozen which lessen its natural sweetness. 

Last on our lunch was their Super California Maki (₱85). I was expecting something different but it’s just California Maki with additional japanese mayo and mangoes. 

The complexity of Japanese Cuisine – combination of finesse, technique, and assurance of ingredient’s freshness – is something that’s hard to perfect especially if there’s limitation in resource. I can see that Tokyo Joe’s still relatively growing and has offered several improvements in their menu for the past months. I hope they take all these to considerations so they can better serve consumers in the future.

Have you tried any of their dish? How was your experience?

**

Always hungry,

🍣ish’cLair🍣

Follow my blog with Bloglovin


This post was not written for detrimental purposes. Everything written is based on my experience and honest opinion. It might be different from yours, so I challenge you to share it on the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

